DOALC 5 – Lectures and SAED

Lectures started properly a day after our Swearing-In Ceremony. We were told the previous day that we should get ready for them because we got tired of the lectures we had the day before. We were told that the lectures to be started this day will be from 9am to 2pm. Hold on! 9:00 in the morning to 2:00 in the afternoon. Am I back to Secondary School?

After our devotion, we had our morning exercise with the Man O’ War. My platoon’s Man O’ War Instructor is a really cool guy. I don’t like when our Man O War time is up. Time for exercise is resting time for us. Those who don’t want to join the activities, just rest with the time. No, they don’t leave the parade ground, they sit somewhere there.

That morning we were shocked when we heard that we would be having drills a.k.a parade a.k.a match past. I thought the match past practice ended with the swearing in ceremony. What else are we practicing for? I don’t know! When we were done with the drills, we were released from the parade ground. It was time for breakfast and bath.

The dreaded 9am came, we were seated in the stadium. We didn’t use the Multipurpose Hall because of Covid-19 Protocols. We were always on our nose masks. There’s bucket tap and soap in every 15-20 steps you take. The lectures were boring, I won’t lie to you. I would feel bad if someone says my lecture is a boring one but when I say boring, I mean it, it is boring.

A man/guy spoke on Gender Equality and I can’t remember what he said but everything boils down to women being lesser than man. Well done chief! You gave us the best lecture on gender equality.

Another spoke on COVID-19. I must say the lecture was insightful but was boring. There were reading off a paper. There’s nothing wrong with reading from a paper but its cram and pour. It’s either they don’t know enough about what they are saying or they are not good in delivering a speech or paper. After this lecture, a song was about COVID-19 prevention was played. It was a cover of Michael Jackson’s We Are the World. It was that day that I noticed the Ogun State Coordinator’s love for music. She was the master mind behind the song. Well, she used Michael’s Jackson’s ‘We Are the World’ for it.

The State Coordinator took over when the Covid lecture ended. She told us about SAED. Before camp, people have been saying things about SAED. Even my sister told me to go for makeup when SAED starts in camp.

WHAT IS SAED?

SAED is short for Skill Acquisition and Entrepreneurial Development. It’s a skill acquisition programme organized by NYSC. Corp members are expected to join a class in the list of available classes. You’re not to partake in more than one skill. You got to choose your struggle. Pick one and stick to it.

Here are the list of available SAED classes:

List of some of the NYSC SAED Classes.
NYSC SAED Classes

After the SAED lecture, a man, guest speaker, spoke on Agro business. He told us about his business and others in the same field. When the lecture ended, a guy, he’s very passionate about Agro business, pitched himself and got a slot. What they later discussed or agreed, I don’t know. This man gave us N200, 000 for refreshments. The money is for all Corp members to share. Agro business lecture ended, a man from NDE took over. He didn’t speak for 10 minutes without mentioning the 200,000 given to us. Like man, we got the money next? Thankfully, his class ended. We left the stadium for lunch and siesta.

4pm, we are out again for parade. After the parade, the football match was played. My platoon won the match. It was a tough match but we won. Our supervisor kept on reminding us to have fun; win or lose just enjoy yourself. The meeting we had was on the first Saturday in camp. He told the guys to be careful when playing to avoid serious injury.

I would feel bad if someone says my lecture is a boring one but when I say boring, I mean it, it is boring.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close