MTN 4G UPGRADE

I have been postponing this for years, so I did it today. Yay!! Finally!! MTN introduced its 4G network years ago. Around 2018/2019, I cant remember correctly. I wanted the 4G, it was faster, but I couldn’t do it because my phone (then) was not 4G compatible. I later got a 4G phone; I couldn’t do it. My 3G was working just fine. I got this phone I’m using now; I didn’t upgrade my SIM card. My network works quite well but not so fast. I made up my mind to do it anytime soon. I didn’t fix a particular date. I just planned on doing it someday soon.

There are two MTN offices in my office street. The first office is a bit far from my office, the other is 8 blocks away. Early this year, I asked the security officer the criteria for a SIM upgrade. He told me what to bring. Since that day, I did not go back to the MTN office though I take the route every day. People are always there; it is one of the things that made me keep postponing it. Early morning yesterday, I decided to do it. The plan was to get to the office on time. 3G made it streaming on Tidal difficult. I will have to buy data with my GLO line to stream on Tidal. I don’t have money to do it this time; I do not want my subscription to waste. I got to the office and realized that I forgot the document I needed for my SIM upgrade.

I got back from work yesterday, took my NIN from where I kept it and put it in my bag. Hola! Buenos Dias! I got to the office and left for MTN office. I got there, wrote my name and waited. When it got to my turn I went in, sat down and waited for my turn inside. My turn, I did my stuff and left with my 4G sim card. I’m about to give step by step details on how to upgrade your MTN SIM to 4G at any MTN office. Entrance method may differ per branch but the methods are the same.

MTN 4G BENEFITS

MTN 4G SIM UPGRADE PROCEDURE

  1. Mark register/pick a number. this depends on the number of people at the branch
  2. Fill the form given to you. in the form you are to write:
    • your name and surname
    • your NIN
    • the last three numbers you contacted recently or the three numbers you frequently call
    • your phone number and signature
    • tick what you’re there for. (SIM Upgrade, tick SIM SWAP)
    • purpose of SIM SWAP, tick sim upgrade.
  3. When its your turn, submit the form to the MTN Staff who is to attend to you.
  4. You will thumbprint (forefingers and thumbs) and take a snapshot.
  5. they ask for you address, date of birth and your mother’s maiden name.

its like registering a new sim card. They need the details for your MTN number activation. When the staff is done, you will be given a new SIM Card. The new SIM is your number but in another SIM. That new SIM won’t be active till your current SIM is out of service. Out of service means the new SIM Card is ready for use. Remove the SIM card and insert the new 4G given to you. I got 4GB data bonus. That’s cool right? I almost forgot!! MTN 4G is super-fast. I did it this morning and I am so excited about how fast my internet is right now. Maybe I’m used to 3G so the 4G feels super fast to me.

IS MTN 4G UPGRADE FREE?

yes, its free. You won’t pay a dime.

WHAT DOCUMENTS ARE NEEDED FOR MTN 4G UPGRADE?

Only one document – your NIN. If you can write down the number, do that instead of going with your NIN. to be on a safe side, go with your NIN. I don’t know how other branches do theirs. The NIN is just needed for the form you will fill at the MTN Office.

WHY WAS I GIVEN A NEW SIM CARD?

Your current SIM Card is a 3G SIM card so for you to have access to 4G, you need a 4G SIM card. If you notice, the SIM Pack given to you to the ‘welcome back’ SIM Pack. So yeah you need have the new 4G SIM Card for your 4G network.

MY DETAILS ARE ALREADY IN MTN DATABASE, WHY AM I BEING ASKED ABOUT THEM AGAIN?

The questions about your personal details are for confirmation and record update. My current home address and the one I had on their database aren’t the same. So the address was updated.

HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOUR NEW 4G SIM CARD TO ACTIVATE?

An hour or two. Highest two hours. Once you insert your new 4G SIM Card (that’s after the 3G SIM has gone out of service), you will receive a message, from MTN, saying the upgrade is complete. Check your data balance or myMTN App. Get the App, it makes life easier besties!!!

More questions? Ask in the comment section. Thanks for visiting my blog. Do have a wonderful day.

9 thoughts on “MTN 4G UPGRADE

  1. Have waited for 24hr but the sim as not been activated yet why is that ?

    Like

  2. Hi! Sorry for the late response. Is it sorted out now? If it isn’t, it’s best to revisit the MTN branch. 😥

    Like

  3. Please I did a sim upgrade and it’s been over 15hour and the old sim didn’t go out of service,what can I do?

    Like

  4. My 3G sim has refused to go out of service 28 hours after upgrade. Do I just remove it and insert the new one?

    Like

  5. Hello Happiness. I am so sorry for the late response. You are to use the new sim card they gave you. the old one runs out of service hence the need to use the new sim card given to you

    Like

  6. I did an upgrade yesterday till now it’s not working why

    Like

  7. I have done my upgrade but till now it not working even despite I waited more than 2hrs, why is that

    Like

  8. For real? You need to give them a call or revisit their office. So sorry about that

    Like

  9. Muheez Muftau Dec 29, 2022 — 3:09 pm

    I have waited for more than 2 hours and my 3G sim has not gone out of service

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close