Project Defence

It is something no one can escape in my department. You must defend your project whether you like it or not. I defended my project last week Wednesday and since then I’ve been busy doing nothing. I want to use this one week to get as many information as possible because once I leave the den there will be no free Wi-Fi.

The day I defended, I was really nervous but when I entered my supervisor’s office for defence I got this boldness out of nowhere. I spoke well and was asked questions which I answered to the best of my ability. I was the first to defend in my group. When the lecturer called my name, I saw the pity look, not exactly pity you know the kind of look people give when they feel bad for you. Yes, that’s the look I got. To make the matters worse, I was encouraging someone I thought will be the first to enter without knowing I will be the first to enter. After the defence, I went downstairs and took pictures with my friends.

As we were taking the pictures, we started reminiscing about the four years spent in school. I was bothered about something. Typing became difficult, I didn’t feel confident enough to type things online. It’s as if there will be errors and it will tarnish my image. I type well only in my blog and it is because I know many people have not started visiting my blog. Maybe by the time I get traffic in this blog I would be very confident and my writing must have improved.

My defence did not end in that office. Till my very last breath, I will keep defending my degree. I have to proof that I graduated from the department of English and Literary Studies. I have to show that the four years I spent in school are not in vain. There’s no result for the defence in life. The judge of life defence is me because I will see my mistakes and have to study and learn more. Sometime last semester, one of my lecturers said something in class. He said that one of our lecturers, a professor, was in a meeting and two lecturers were arguing on a statement one of them made. The professor was asked what the correct answer was, he told the two lecturers that they are both wrong. He was asked that question on a spur of the moment. He wasn’t expecting the question but he answered well. What I’m trying to say is that as an English scholar and graduate, there are expectations. Questions will be asked out of the blue and you’re expected to get it right.
When I was in third year, another lecturer said that as an English student, we will keep defending our certificates. So, if you know any good English textbook, PDF especially, send it to my mail (sominspires@gmail.com). I will find some myself but I would like to get recommendation from you.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close